Skip to main content

Flow versions

Flows are versioned to provide robustness to flows by allowing them to be updated without breaking code integration.

Committing changes

The default view of the flow builder is of the Draft version. This is a sandbox version which allows you to edit the flow without breaking the deployed version of the flow. When you are done editing a flow you can press the Commit changes button to save the draft into a new version.

This prompts you for a commit message and asks you how to transition users between flow versions. You can either set the transition as Restart flow which restarts users who have started but not completed the flow to the beginning of the new flow version. Or set the transition as Exit flow which exits users who have started but not completed the flow so they will not see the new version.

Setting a flow version for an environment

The flow version and environment your users experience are set in code via the React SDK. The API key determines the environment and the flow version is set in the <DoptProvider />.

Viewing a flow version

Any flow version can be viewed in a read-only capacity in the flow builder from the versions tab. In this view, you can inspect the flow's blocks and paths from the flow builder interface. You will not be able to make any changes to the flow.

Restoring a flow version

With the restore feature, you can restore the draft state to any prior version. Restoring modifies your draft state to have the same blocks and edges as a prior version, while deleting all current changes to draft.